No room for error, nowhere to hide…

The previous post was published without a picture.  See, I figured I could type the text while I was watching Master Chef, and then post a picture once I had taken one…which would be once I had actually, well…finished the shirt.

Which was supposed to be about half an hour later because the shirt, at that stage, was 99% complete.

Thus I jinxed the shirt. Or maybe, just maybe, I offended one of Santa’s mythical elves with my anti-Christmas rant in the last post. Either way I am embarrassed to admit responsibility for what happened next.

I completed the last 1% and  rushed over to the lucky man with shirt in one hand and camera in the other. The shirt fitted PERFECTLY.

But as he started buttoning up: “Jammer Liefie*,  I am not going to be able to wear this…at least not to the office…”

Pffffffffffffffff.

Can you spot the problem? I swear, I reminded myself 20 times NOT to make that mistake 😦

bnshirt1numbered

I had a scrap of the fabric left, and another end-of-roll remnant in a slightly different hue. Combining the two, I could remake the shirt (minus an inch or so on the hem and plus an obligatory back seam).

bnshirt2numbered

The new shirt is the “New Improved Version!  Now With Subtle Colour-Blocking!” (And manly-man buttons sewn the right manly way round.)

bnshirt4

I ditched the pattern instructions this time, and instead used some of the sew-along tutorials (Archer shirt and Alder dress) on Grainline Studio‘s website.  Jen from Grainline is amazing, her tips and tricks for the yoke and collar worked magic.

bnshirt3

The thing with a man’s shirt, is that there is only one way it can look, really. Yes, you can tweak the collar with a mm or 2, and play a bit with the bias on the yoke or pocket…but if I make a mistake on a dress, I would just redesign the thing to hide the error.  While a man’s shirt gives you no place to hide.  It needs to be perfectly sewn to make it a pleasure to look at.

***

Afrikaans word of the day: “Jammer Liefie“.

Pronounced: “yohmmer, leafy”.

Meaning:  ‘Sorry, Darling’.  Said with lots of feeling.

I think I am going to say: “Jammer Liefie, you can rather keep on buying all the RTW shirts you need.”  This was fun  a valuable exercise, but apart from the remaining two shirting pieces in the stash, I will NOT make a habit out of this!

Although… that feeling when you turn that collar over after topstitching…that feeling…that might just perhaps get addictive…

Leave a Reply

