Vintage with a Modern Twist

I got The Pictures  from the photographer this week!  I compressed a few so I could include a hundred quite a lot in this blog post.

img_4408

* Happy, happy sigh *

Do pour yourself a cup of tea, and enjoy with me:

Meeting at the local “Burger Bistro” a few hours before the Matric Farewell function, at first it was major awkwardness.

“So this is what you look like when you are not wearing a t-shirt…not bad.  Not bad at all”:

img_4238

“Is it just me or does the earth feel all diagonal and strange when you dress up like this?”

img_4267

“Don’t worry, I have your back.  Let me practice the chair-tipping so I won’t spill you and 30 metres of fabric on the floor at the posh venue tonight.”

img_4293

“What have you done with your hair?”

“Business on the right, Party on the left!”

img_4232

“What? You didn’t bring coins for the game machine?”

img_4306

“There are coins a-plenty in this place, if you just know where to look!”

*Kids beginning to look more relaxed now. And please take a moment to appreciate the colour changes in that silk.  AND to appreciate the bow tie made from the reverse side of the lining fabric of her dress:

img_4342

“Ek bring vir jou blomme
ek gee jou genot
ek leen jou my bicycle sonder n slot…”

img_4328

And then everyone went back to the house to take some more wedding Matric Farewell pictures:

IMG_4526.jpg

Including the dog:

img_4559

And the cat:

img_4471

And bits of the garden that the mother of the house wanted shown off:

And a few last whirls and twirls because that infamous tulle petticoat just had to feature on at least one photo:

Vogue 8729

Vogue 8729

***

My beautiful child.

Thank you so very much for giving me the opportunity to make this dress for you.

7 thoughts on “Vintage with a Modern Twist

  1. Awwwwww that last line #tears. Go mamma!
    Aren’t teenagers the best? I feel they are very hard done by and underrated.
    Your girl looks amazing and also a round of applause for the shoes please?! What a wonderful memory you have helped her create.
    (I still have my dress that a friend made me for my ball in my last year of school. In fact I’m blogging about it for Slotober atm.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

